Daddy Long Legs

DADDY LONG LEGS announce new album Street Sermons for 3/17/2023 via Yep Roc Records

First single "Street Sermon

Listen: DADDY LONG LEGS - “Street Sermon”

Watch the album trailer for Street Sermons

 January 11, 2023: Today, DADDY LONG LEGS, New York City's most devilish rhythm & blues street gang, announced their highly anticipated new album Street Sermons, due out March 17 via Yep Roc Records. The group has also released the title track, "Street Sermons," in which the group implores its troubled community to "work with each other, not against each other," as the Brooklyn band sounds like it's pushing through the cracks of a hot and sticky subway station. Street Sermons is currently available for pre-order here:  available for pre-order here.

 Singer/harmonizer Brian Hurd writes about the song, "We were upset about a lot of things when we wrote this song, and one thing that struck me was that there was a real lack of meaningful protest songs at the time, so we decided to take matters into our own hands."

The band's fourth studio album is a wellspring of pent-up feelings and emotions that need to be taken to the streets. Produced by Oakley Munson of the Black Lips at Old Soul Studios in Catskill, NY, the band builds out their signature sound and features guest appearances by punk rock legend Wreckless Eric, who contributes backing vocals on "Nightmare" and "Silver Satin." and John Sebastian of The Lovin' Spoonful on "Ding-Ding Man. "In dark times, DADDY LONG LEGS continues to shine their light wherever they go, leaving a piece of themselves on stage every night because it's in them and needs to come out.

DADDY LONG LEGS' latest album, Lowdown Ways (Yep Roc, 2019), reached #4 on the Billboard Blues chart. The band was highly praised by Rolling Stone and No Depression, who stated that "from the first note, this is clearly a record made by people who live and die for rock 'n' roll."

 Over the past decade, the gentlemen have torched homes around the world with their explosive fire ceremony and earned a cult-like following whose reputation as one of today's best live acts is hard to beat. Written and recorded against a backdrop of political tension, unrest in the streets and a deeply uncertain future, Street Sermons is a testament to triumph over adversity.

 Street Sermons tracklist:

01) Street Sermon

02) Nightmare

03) Rockin’ My Boogie

04) Harmonica Razor

05) Been a Fool Once

06) Star

07) You’ll Die Too

08) Silver Satin

09) Two Dollar Holler

10) Ding-Ding Man

11) Stop What You’re Doin’

12) Electro-motive Blues


Band: Daddy Long Legs

Album: Lowdown Ways

VÖ: 10.05.2019

Label/Vertrieb: Yep Roc Rec / Bertus Musikvertrieb GmbH



DADDY LONG LEGS return with savagery and sophistication on their upcoming Yep Roc debut, Lowdown Ways. The 12 original tracks punch a necessary hole in the 21st Century landscape, both sonically and spiritually.

The expansive, new territory that the New York City-based trio cover on Lowdown Ways is thanks to producer Jimmy Sutton (JD McPherson, Pokey Lafarge, Jake La Botz) who applies his technical know-how to broaden the sound of such instantly memorable tunes as "Pink Lemonade" (co-written by McPherson), "Ding Dong Dang" and "Bad Neighborhood," which resonate with the down-and-dirty roots that have always been DADDY LONG LEGS' inspiration. Meanwhile, the band ventures successfully into unfamiliar territory with the pub-rock-style "Winners Circle," the bittersweet acoustic ballad "Back Door Fool" and the dramatic album-closer "Wrong Side of the River."

Written in the great cities of Brooklyn and Nashville and recorded on the Southside of Chicago at Hi-Style Studio, the beloved trio have created a record cinematic in scope that rides the crest of the new century with a beggar’s banquet of ancient spells, hollers and fuzz, steel guitars rapturous preaching, and of course, a DADDY LONG LEGS stompin’ beat.

Their stripped-down roots sound and in-your-face intensity has garnered them fans in their hometown and overseas, where they've toured with such kindred spirits as The Damned, The Sonics, Nikki Lane, Hurray for the Riff Raff and the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. They’ve been recognized by Rolling Stone, who aptly compared them to “Chicago blues fired at the moon, played by the demented children of the Pretty Things.”

DADDY LONG LEGS has been destroying urban roadhouses and swank nightclubs alike with their dirty blues and devastation boogie. Theirs is a fire-breathing, no-holds-barred attack that redefines American roots for a new generation of lo-fi punks and suave aficionados alike.