Ramone, CJ

Band: CJ Ramone

Album: The Holy Spell…

VÖ: 10.05.2019

Label: Fat Wreck Chords / Edel


What we love during our youth often loses its power as we age. It’s understandable and expected, especially if the thing you loved—making music—was also your job for a long time.

CJ Ramone made his name as a member of the greatest punk band of all time, and nearly 25 years after that experience, it’d be understandable if Ramone now spent his days resting on his legacy and tsk-tsking the state of punk rock. But The Holy Spell…, Ramone’s new solo album out May 10 on Fat Wreck Chords, joyfully celebrates his undiminished love of music. It’s right there in the title.

“I never lost that magical feeling that you get from music, and that’s where the title came in,” he says. “The bands that I listened to when I was young that I really enjoyed, I can still put that music on now, and it still has the same magic for me.”

Full of fist-pumping punk—but not limited to it—The Holy Spell… pays tribute to that magic in a variety of ways. Notably, a pair of sly covers hearken back to Ramone’s childhood: He would hear Dave Edmunds’ “Crawling from the Wreckage” on the portable radio he played in bed at night, and Webb Pierce’s 1953 hit “There Stands the Glass” recalls his parents’ love for classic country.

Those songs get revitalized here, which is also how Ramone, guitarist Dan Root, multi-instrumentalist Nate Sander, and drummer Pete Sosa, sound on The Holy Spell… With producer Paul Miner (Death By Stereo, New Found Glory, H20, Adolescents) again at the helm, The Holy Spell… is a surprisingly nuanced release from a punk lifer.

The album’s first half, kicked off by “One High One Low,” continues the hook-laden pop punk that fans expect from the Ramone name. But check out the country-tinged “Hands of Mine” around the halfway point, the SoCal pop bubbling up through “Movin’ On” and “Postcard from Heaven,” and the feeling of closer “Rock On.” A farewell to Ramone’s longtime collaborator and friend Steve Soto of the Adolescents, it’s a fist-in-the-air tribute that says “rock on” without a trace of irony.

“Steve really has a lot to do with where I am now, and every record, Steve was right there with me,” Ramone says. “He is completely irreplaceable. I owe Steve a lot. It’s definitely strange going on without him, but even though he’s not on the record, a lot of what we learned from Steve is still on the record.”

The Holy Spell… is Ramone’s first album since 2017’s American Beauty, which PunkNews hailed for “keeping the Ramones sound fresh,” while AllMusic raved that Ramone is “not just copying the band’s old glories, but giving their legacy a fresh dose of energy and a different perspective.”



Infos zum vorherigen Album:

Band: CJ Ramone

Album: American Beatuy

VÖ: 17.03.2017

Label: Fat Wreck / Edel


American Beauty is CJ Ramone’s third solo album and was recorded with the stellar backing band of Steve Soto (Adolescents), Dan Root (Adolescents), and Pete Sosa (Street Dogs). Out March 17th, the 12-song effort crackles with the spirit of ’76 and a sound and style true to the Ramones. CJ and his band have been on the road a lot since we released his last album, Last Chance to Dance, in 2014. Playing shows with the new generation of bands hasn’t been lost on CJ. He lent backing vocals to a track on the last Night Birds album, and now, on his own record, gets contributions from Big Eyes frontwoman Kate Eldridge and the horn section of Mariachi El Bronx! We’ll be premiering a brand new song shortly, so stay tuned!

And now, a word from the man himself, CJ Ramone:
American Beauty is the record I’ve been working towards since I started putting out records as CJ Ramone. My songwriting has definitely grown up some, but the raw energy is still there. Steve Soto, Dan Root, and Pete Sosa helped me drive every track home in a way that only veterans of the business can do, with engineer/co-producer Paul Miner throwing gas on the fire every step of the way. I don’t think I could have made this record any better. 2017 is set to be my busiest year yet, starting with a coast to coast US/Canada tour, followed up by an extended trip to Europe this summer. Fall and Winter we’ll be spending in South America and we are working on a trip to Japan and, fingers crossed, Australia. It’s going to be a good year. Hope to see y’all on the big road.


1: Let’s Go        
2: Yeah Yeah Yeah        
3: You’ll Never Make Me Believe        
4: Before the Lights Go Out        
5: Girlfriend in a Graveyard        
6: Tommy’s Gone        
7: Run Around        
8: Steady As She Goes        
9: Without You        
10: Be a Good Girl        
11: Moral to the Story        
12: Pony