NEKO CASE - Neues Album "Hell-On" am 1. Juni bei ANTI- / Titeltrack im Stream / Album-Teaser

NEKO CASE hat für den 1. Juni den Release ihres neuen Albums "Hell-On" bei ANTI- angekündigt - eine Sammlung aus farbenfrohem,  enigmatischem Songwriting mit ihren bislang wagemutigsten Arrangements.  Den Titelrack stellt NEKO CASE schon jetzt vor.

"Hell-On" wurde von NEKO CASE persönlich produziert, bei sechs der insgesamt zwölf Songs hatte sie dabei Hilfe von Co-Produzent Bjorn Yttling (Peter Bjorn & John). Gemixt wurden die Tracks von Lasse Martin in Stockholm.

Das Album featured Gäste wie unter anderem BETH DITTO und MARK LANEGAN.


"My name is Neko Case. I am a music producer, songwriter, and musician. I just finished a record called ‘Hell-On’ with a cast of talented musicians, techs, label folks and friends.
What I want you to know about me isn’t too much, nor do I want to over talk it. What you take away on your own, as a listener is most important. I worked really hard and I was present for every second of this project. Producing a record is a huge task and there were times I was deep in the weeds, but that is normal for a record that takes a year plus. The weeds aren’t so bad. There were a lot of break-through moments, belly-laughs, sleepless nights and grubby, shiny jeans. In the end it was all worth it and I am so proud of how it turned out, and I am so grateful to have worked with such dedicated, giving artists to make it happen.
There were a few challenges during the making of this record from small (scheduling difficulties, and occasional miscommunication) to large (my house burning down while I was overseas.) But none of them are the story of this recording, the songs are the story. They are my best self. They are everything I’ve worked for since I was a kid, whether I knew it or not.
I write songs from a feeling of solidarity with folks who feel alone or isolated, I think I’m trying to comfort people in this way. It’s not a forceful way rather "No commitment necessary;" take it if you want it, take it as you can.
My style is odd, I don’t know what genre this is. I don’t have a pretty voice or a trained voice, and I am constantly disappointed that I don’t have a “tough” voice, no matter how hard I practice, but it’s mine, and for all its loud, heavy-handed, nasal, vibrato-less qualities I accept it. The closest sound I have found to compare it to is Bulgarian Folk singing. My Eastern ancestors could have been proud of me a century ago? I could have been a droning “caller of wasps” perhaps? I just invented that job, I like the sound of it.
The songs are who I believe myself to be and that will change, but for now that’s how it is and I’m very satisfied with that.”

01. Hell-On
02. Last Lion Of Albion
03. Halls Of Sarah
04. Bad Luck
05. Vurse Of The I-5 Corridor
06. Gumball Blue
07. Dirty Diamond
08. Oracle Of The Maritime
09. Winnie
10. Sleep All Summer
11. My Uncle's Navy
12. Pitch Or Honey