Joy Formidable, the

Band: The Joy Formidable


VÖ: 28.09.2018

Label: Hassle Records / Rough Trade


Das Waliser Rocktrio THE JOY FORMIDABLE macht mit seinem kommenden vierten Album "AAARTH" einen weiteren großen Schritt nach vorn! Angetrieben von ihrer Rastlosigkeit und Neugier zeigt sich die Band weiterhin an der Spitze der originellen und aggressiven Gitarrenmusik - das zeigt sich auch anhand etlicher Live-Konzerte! Nicht ohne Grund bespielen THE JOY FORMIDABLE schließlich weltweit die größten Bühnen wie erst vergangene Woche das ausverkaufte Meltdown Festival in UK.

Nun gibt die Band erste Details zu ihrem inzwischen vierten Album "AAARTH" bekannt: Am 28.09. soll es bei Hassle Records/Rough Trade erscheinen und nach der im Mai veröffentlichten Single "Dance of the Lotus" folgt schon jetzt der zweite Einblick "The Wrong Side".

Sänger und Gitarrist Ritzy Bryan erklärt:
“With life not always being that kind, you can either go down a really dark hole or you can smear yourself with colour and reverie and try to forget. That’s what we did with AAARTH; we threw ourselves into this beautiful vivacious collage of experimentation, real meets unreal, and stopped giving a fuck about things that didn’t matter, and started caring more about the things that are worth your time.

We’ve definitely made a colourful, mystical collage with this record, partly because of our surroundings. Those multi-coloured sunsets & the primeval elements of nature in the Southwest – it’s emboldened our imaginations in the songwriting and the production. I love stories and seeing symbolism and meaning change with different cultures and interpretations. I see it in my lyrics, a lot of the imagery plays on being ambivalent because I’m often expressing a lot of things at once. That’s true of the title; it falls somewhere between a scream, an exaltation, a play on words, and then this motif of the bear (“arth” in Welsh) that spiritually represents strength, wisdom & healing.”

01. Y Bluen Eira
02. The Wrong Side
03. Go Loving
04. Cicada (Land on Your Back)
05. All in All
06. What For
07. The Better Me
08. Absence
09. Dance of the Lotus
10. You Can’t Give Me
11. Caught on a Breeze